A Year in a Jar

2013, just like any other year, had its fair share of newsworthy events. On a global scale, natural disasters happened here or there, protests broke out, and well-known and respected individuals passed away. On a more local scale, so and so celebrity did this, while the stock market did that, and Congress did this and that. However, as all sorts of events occurred around the world, I had some events of my own taking place on a more personal level. 

Being the teenage girl that I am, I tend to spend a lot of my free time scrolling through Pinterest. Towards the end of 2012, I stumbled across this idea that I decided that I wanted to do for 2013. The idea was to take a jar, specifically a Mason Jar (a common find on Pinterest) and decorate it however you please. As the year rolled by, the goal was to place any ticket stubs or memories written on a piece of paper, or any trinkets that you acquired throughout the year. Once the year was over, you could open the jar back up and go through all the good memories from the last year. 

Image

 

On New Year’s Eve 2013, I sat down and went through all the slips and stubs and other memories recorded in the jar. 

Image

 

What I found not only reminded me of the good times i had throughout the year, but also how much my life has changed. It showed how my priorities changed and who was in my life and what not. Specifically, I had a lot of different items in my jar. There were movie ticket stubs, concert tickets, wristbands from county fairs, golfing scorecards, sporting event ticket stubs, parking passes, and written memories on post-it notes.

 Image

 

I thought the idea of A Year in a Jar was pretty neat, but I never thought I would actually do it. Although I did miss a lot of events because I didn’t bring my jar to college with me, I still felt I had made a better effort than I could have even imagined. It’s simple enough to do and doesn’t take up a lot of space or anything. Thus, I would recommend to anyone who may be reading this to make a jar of your own. It doesn’t even need to be an actual jar. Maybe you just use a box or plastic tub or something, I don’t know. My point is, it is worth it. After all, what do you have to lose?

Leave a Reply

